Additionally, paste this code immediately after the opening tag:
Call us on
(08)6555 7718
Send a message

Visa information

Skilled Worker 189/190/489 VISA

Navigate the world of visas and migration with help from Perth’s registered migration agents. At Modern Migration Australia, we provide expert advice on skilled worker visas. We help you understand the 189 and 190 Visa conditions and requirements to strengthen your application.

Expressions of Interest (EOI)

Excluding the Skilled Independent Subclass 189 New Zealand Stream visa, all other visas require applicants to submit an EOI. The minimum points score is 60, however scores of less than 65 are generally unsuccessful.

EOIs are essentially a pre-visa application without any associated rights. They do, however, impose obligations on the EOI maker. Information provided in EOIs must be accurate and consistent with evidence given later due to a connection with your point score’s outcome. Inaccuracies, for example discrepancies in claimed years of work experience and provided evidence, may lead to visa refusals. While compiling your EOI, we provide you with expert advice to ensure that you’re able to verify all claims with strong evidence.

Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189) (Points-Tested) Stream – Permanent Visa

Offering one of the shortest visa processing times and allowing for the most direct entry, the Subclass 189 Visa is in demand.

This stream is for points-tested skilled workers, including eligible family members, who are not sponsored by an employer or family member and are not nominated by state or territory governments. The visa allows you to live and work in Australia as a permanent resident.

The visa’s travel component can be renewed for either five or one year, depending on your residency. After meeting qualifying periods, you may apply for citizenship.

Applications begin by expressing an EOI and occupation dependent, occupational licensing and/or registration.

Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) (New Zealand) Stream – Permanent Visa

This stream is for New Zealand Special Category (Subclass 444) Visa (SCV) holders who demonstrate a commitment and contribution to Australia. This allows an application for permanent residence.

Accepted New Zealand residents are eligible to apply for citizenship after 12 months (in addition to holding an SCV for five consecutive years).


You must:

  • Hold an SCV
  • Have been a resident in Australia continuously for five years
  • Have started residency in Australia on or before 19 February 2016
  • Have a taxable income at or above an income threshold for each of the four completed income years prior to lodging an application (unless claiming an exemption)

Why Apply?

This visa allows you to apply for citizenship within 12 months of being granted permanent residency. If you’re a non-exempted visa holder or permanent resident with dependents about to begin university in Australia, you’re unable to claim HECS-HELP.

Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190) – Permanent Visa

This visa allows skilled workers nominated by state or territory governments to live in that state or territory as a permanent resident for at least two years.


You must:

  • Be nominated by a state or territory government agency
  • Have a relevant occupation defined by your state or territory
  • Have a suitable Skills Assessment for the occupation and meet other specified language or work experience criteria
  • Meet the points test minimum score of 60

Why Apply?

For selected occupations, the additional points on offer can strengthen your chances of being granted a visa.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 489)

This visa allows skilled workers to live and work in regional or low-population growth metropolitan areas of Australia for up to four years. The three entry pathways include Extended Stay, Invited and Subsequent entry. You may be able to apply for a Skilled Independent or other visa depending on meeting permanent visa requirements.

This visa allows skilled workers to live and work in regional or low-population growth metropolitan areas of Australia for up to four years.


You must:

  • Hold a subclass 475, 487, 495 or 496 visa (Extended Stay pathway)
  • Be nominated by a state or territory government agency or be sponsored by an eligible relative (Invited pathway)
  • Be invited to apply (Invited pathway)
  • Have a relevant occupation
  • Have a suitable Skills Assessment for the occupation
  • Meet the points test score of 60
  • Be under 45 years of age at time of invitation
  • Have competent English skills

Additional Eligibility – All Pathways

  • Live and work in a specified location
  • Meet health requirements
  • Meet character requirements
  • Must have repaid, or have arranged to repay, any outstanding debts to the Australian government
  • Eligibility may be compromised if you have had a visa cancelled or refused while in Australia

Additional Eligibility – Extended Stay Pathway

You must currently hold one of the following provisional visas and must have complied with all visa conditions for at least two years:

Additional Eligibility – Invited Pathway

You must be either:

Additional Eligibility – Subsequent Entry Pathway

member of your family unit must be the primary holder of a:


There are no English language skill requirements for subsequent entrants. If you’re 18 years or older and do not have Functional English, you will need to pay an additional fee. For secondary applicants, tests proving Functional English must be completed no more than 12 months before applying for the visa. They can also be completed while your application is processed.

Contact Perth’s Registered Migration Agents

At Modern Migration Australia, we specialise in providing reliable and accurate advice and support when it comes to visa applications and migration law.
For more on the 189 and 190 Visa requirements, chat with our experienced registered migration agents. Call us on (08) 6555 7718.

Skilled Occupation Lists

Click here

Visa Options